Skip to content

Tomatoes & Eggplant – a real summer treat

July 26, 2011

This morning I spotted a ripe Black Brandywine heirloom tomato on the vine.  Of course I immediately picked it!  If you have not tried growing heirloom tomatoes I encourage you to try growing some.  They are chocked full of incredible flavor and are quite easy to grow either in your vegetable garden or in a patio container.  The picture to the left is of a cluster of these delightful and colourful Black Brandywine tomatoes.  Naturally, my picking that ripe tomato meant a nice lunch on the patio for me and the preparation was simple and so easy.

Um -- nothing says refreshing like a glass of sun iced-tea.

First: I placed this canning jar outside in the hot sun (yes, it was sealed and had some sugar added too) – after about two hours I brought it in, gave it a quick stir, added ice – and walla – iced sun-tea was ready to enjoy.

Oven-roasted tomatoes & eggplant - this picture is of early girl tomatoes and eggplant. The Brandywine are darker and sweeter and hold up well when roasted.

Second:  I took the heirloom Brandywine tomatoes and sliced them along with a nice globe eggplant I had on hand; placed the tomatoes and eggplant into a roasting pan, sparingly drizzled light olive oil over the top, then sprinkled one (1) tablespoon chopped fresh picked rosemary and one (1) tablespoon chopped fresh picked sweet basil from my herb garden.  Tossed ingredients to coat.  Placed into the oven at 350 degrees for about twenty minutes (my oven is OLD so you might not need twenty minutes in yours) removed, sprinkled with very little salt and some white pepper and served with sliced pita bread and a variety of cheeses I had on hand.  A simple and easy lunch for a summer’s day.  And I topped it off with two (small) scoops of coconut-milk sorbet.   Right now I’m in heaven.

2 Comments
  1. I am growing several varieties of black tomatoes and they are absolutely the best tasting of all the tomatoes that I have grown.

  2. I can’t recall the name of it, but a black heirloom is really popular here in Arkansas too. These look amazing. And I agree nothing like tea on a hot day!

Leave a Reply

