Skip to content

Southern Iced Tea – your ultimate sugar rush!

June 8, 2011

In the south Iced Tea is made with no less than 1-1/2 to 2 cups white granulated  sugar in one standard sized pitcher full! Can anyone say: SUGAR RUSH?

When I was a kid a pitcher of iced-tea was a daily staple on our dinner and supper table (for you non southerners dinner is the noon hour meal and supper is the evening meal) — and even if other beverages were served, like milk, Kool-Aid or lemonade Mama always had some of Daddy’s favorite beverage, sweet tea, on the table.  Always!

I never saw a cup of hot tea until I went to live with my birth mother Ms. Dee when I was in my mid teens. (I’ve sort of written about Ms. Dee – See bottom section of post Cooking & Baking: substitution charts).   Naturally I put two spoonfuls of white sugar in a cup of hot tea!  Hey, don’t wince over this, for once addicted to sugar it becomes an albatross of a situation. I broke myself of this addiction years ago – now healthier choices reign supreme. Thankfully!

But just in case you are wondering about how to make the standard pitcher of Southern Iced Tea — I’m pleased to tell you:

  1. Into a standard sized pitcher (usually 2 quart) place 1-1/2 to 2 cups of white granulated sugar (depending on how sweet you want your tea)
  2. Fill a 4 quart pot with 2/3 up with water and bring to a boil
  3. Add six – eight individual sized tea bags (depending on how dark/strong you want your tea)
  4. Turn off burner but leave pot on-top of burner and cover with its lid and let tea steep for at least twenty minutes
  5. Remove tea bags and pour steeped tea into the pitcher and stir to dissolve sugar
  6. Pour over glasses full of ice (our iced-tea sat out quite a while on the table so by the time the meal was served it was at room temperature and did not totally melt the ice in our glasses)

This is the easiest way but sometimes my aunt would add the sugar to the pot before she added the tea bags to make sure the sugar dissolved.  Why?  Not a clue, folks.  I just remember her doing this but I remember Mama making hers as listed in steps 1 through 5.  

Not rocket science!  Just a plain good sugar rush!

2 Comments
  1. It’s grand fun to see what a tall glass of this stuff can do to sleep-deprived college students. “Sugar rush” is definitly the word!

  2. My wife’s grandmother is from Georgia and she used to put so much sugar in the tea, that she’d stir it in hot and it still wouldn’t dissolve. I kid you not! My wife saw me making sun tea when we were dating and she put a stop to that. I still like it, but it’s verboten in our house. We don’t make sweet very often, but we always make hot tea. We drink a lot of it unsweet. (We save money on sugar this way.) Sorry if I rambled!

Leave a Reply

