Skip to content

Dishes of the Hearth & Heart

January 26, 2011
Homemade cornbread in a cast iron skillet

Image via Wikipedia

When my granny would cook over an open fire inside a massive kitchen fireplace built at least a century before she begun to use it she would hum songs of the mountains she’d learned as a child.  Had I known this rich heritage would mean so much to me in later years I would have taken the time to learn myself a few of those old Scottish/Irish folk songs.  I could hum them when I make cornbread or biscuits for my granddaughters.  You know, teach them a thing of two about mountain heritage.  But, years ago I was embarrassed by the songs and my granny’s high pitch twanging voice.  I wanted nothing more than to distance myself from the mountains and all that came with it.  Now I embrace everything about where my people came from including but not limited to the foods of the region.

Sour Cream Corn Bread: (Aunt Eleanor’s which I tweaked a bit but I think is better for the tweaking)

  • 1 cup self-rising stone ground white corn meal (hard to find but worth the effort)
  • 1 cup sour cream – don’t skimp use a full cup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup melted bacon grease (I know, but just do it!)
  • 1/2 cup creamed corn
  • (optional) diced green chilies or cracked black pepper to taste.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until combined but not beat to death either.  Grease a 9 inch cast iron skillet with some bacon grease for good measure.  Pour cornbread into the skillet.  Bake for 35 minutes until golden brown.

(wait for the posting of some southern mouth-watering biscuits)

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

